It's time for a "Quad" of Coast Guards

HMAS Canberra and USS Fitzgerald
Author name: 
David Brewster

The so-called Quad group of Indo-Pacific maritime democracies – Australia, India, Japan, and the United States – is a valuable grouping, although it is still underutilised in many ways.

By David Brewster

This modest proposal could help bring stability and security to the Indo-Pacific, without the military fanfare.

One of the most effective ways that these countries could work together to enhance maritime security in the Indo-Pacific would be through coordinating the work of their coast guard agencies.

The National Security College, with the support of the Department of Defence, is leading a two-year research project on operationalising Australia’s Indo-Pacific strategy in the Indian Ocean. In the first of a series of publications, Dr David Brewster explores the opportunity for a coordinated approach to enhance maritime security through a ‘Quad’ of coast guards.

This publication origianlly appeared in the Interpreter.

Australian Government logo
‘The National Security College is a joint initiative of the Commonwealth Government and The Australian National University’

Updated:  17 October 2021/Responsible Officer:  Head of College, National Security College/Page Contact:  Web administrator