Visitors & distinguished appointees

Profile image Name, Contact About
Honorary Professor

Vice-Chancellor’s Distinguished Professor The Honorable James R. Clapper served as the fourth US Director of National Intelligence (DNI) from August 9, 2010 to January 20, 2017. In this position, Mr Clapper led the United States Intelligence Community and served as the principal intelligence advisor to President Barak Obama.

Mr. Clapper retired... read more

Visiting Fellow

Professor Anne-Marie Grisogono is a complex systems scientist and Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Science and Engineering at Flinders University. She holds a PhD in Mathematical Physics, and has worked in experimental and theoretical atomic and molecular physics, and lasers and nonlinear optics in various universities, followed by 20 years of applied... read more

Honorary Professor
+61 2 6125 4938

Allan Gyngell is Director of the Crawford Australian Leadership Forum and an Adjunct Professor in the Crawford School of Public Policy.

He was the Director-General of the Australian Office of National Assessments (ONA) from 2009 to 2013.

Before his appointment to ONA, Mr Gyngell was the founding Executive Director of the Lowy Institute... read more

Visiting Fellow

Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK, AFC (Ret’d) was awarded the Knight of the Order of Australia in January 2015 for extraordinary and pre-eminent achievement and merit in service to Australia, through distinguished service in the Australian Defence Force, continued commitment to serve the nation in leadership roles, particularly the national... read more

Visiting Fellow
+961 81734376

Dr Vanessa Newby has a BSc in Psychology from the University of Westminster and an MA and PhD in International Relations from Griffith University. Her research interests include international security, peacekeeping, peace-building, migration, informal institutions, and the politics of the Middle East.

Vanessa is an Arabic speaker and has spent... read more

Visiting Fellow

Sarah Percy is an Associate Professor of International Relations at the University of Queensland (UQ) and the Deputy Director of its Graduate Centre for Governance and International Affairs. She is also a Non Resident Fellow of the Australian Sea Power Centre and a Senior Research Associate at the Oxford Programme on the Changing Character of War (OPCCW... read more

Australian Government logo
‘The National Security College is a joint initiative of the Commonwealth Government and The Australian National University’

Updated:  21 June 2017/Responsible Officer:  Head of College, National Security College/Page Contact:  Web administrator